Special Programs

Tom Lee, District Attorney
District Attorney's Office, District 9
606 Husband, Room 111
Stillwater, OK 74074-4044

Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force is comprised of trained, experienced officers on loan from the Stillwater Police Department, Payne County Sheriff’s Office, OSU Police Department, and the District Attorney’s Office. The Drug Task Force combines manpower and resources to combat illegal drug activity by presenting a coordinated and unified effort of law enforcement agencies within Payne and Logan Counties. The Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force has been operational since July 1, 1997 and is funded mainly by federal grant money.

“VOCA” (Victims of Crime Act) is a federal grant funded program which provides comprehensive one on one services for victims of child abuse, sexual assault, domestic violence abuse and other victims of violent crime in Payne and Logan Counties. The services include crisis intervention, court orientation, emotional support and financial support. The Victim Notification Program implemented with VOCA funding allows the District Attorney’s Victim Advocate to keep the victim informed about the status of their case, i.e. court dates, sentencing information and parole hearings. Public awareness of crime victims’ rights is promoted throughout the community with the assistance of the VOCA grant. The VOCA program has been operational since September 1, 1994.

Adult Drug Court Program is a special court operated outside the District Court which handles cases involving less serious drug using offenders through a supervision and treatment program. These programs include frequent drug testing, judicial and probation supervision, drug counseling, treatment, educational opportunities, and the use of sanctions and incentives. Drug Court has shown a 4% recidivism rate with program graduates. With record low recidivism rates, the local impact to the cost of law enforcement, prosecution, adjudication and incarceration resources dramatically decreases. Additionally, the Drug Court Program helps to reduce population overcrowding in the county jail through incentive-based treatment opportunities offered to offenders with substance abuse problems. The Drug Court Program has been operational since August 1, 1993.

Juvenile Drug Court Program is an approximately six-month program designed to treat substance addictions of youth. Juveniles aged 13-17, with no prior history of violent behavior, and who indicate a need and willingness for recovery from substance abuse are eligible. It is a 3-phase program which includes components of alcohol and drug education, relapse prevention, character development, anger management, job and parenting skills, goal mapping, and social skills. The Juvenile Drug Court is operated outside the District Court and provides intensive outpatient counseling consisting of group family and individual counseling, as well as education to address the special needs of dependent youth. Random urinalysis, counseling sessions, and Drug Court appearances are mandatory to complete the program. The Juvenile Drug Court Program has been operational since May 1, 1997.

Drug Asset Forfeiture Program: The Drug Asset Forfeiture Program is another method of punishing drug dealers. Assets used in illegal activity, including vehicles, currency and property, are seized by law enforcement and held subject to an order from the Court. Upon the Court’s order of forfeiture, the assets are sold at public auction and proceeds are deposited into the Drug Asset Forfeiture Fund. Additionally, drug offenders are often ordered by the Court to contribute money to this fund. All Drug Asset Forfeiture Funds are used solely for the enforcement of controlled dangerous substances laws, drug abuse prevention and drug abuse education.


Powered By:                                             Copyright ©1999-2003 (Payne County). All rights reserved.
                                                           All brand names and product names used on these web pages are  
    trademarks, or trade names of their respective holders.